Skip to main content
Language

Employment Agency License

New Application Fees Fees Vary HOW TO APPLY
Application Reviewed Within 2 Weeks AFTER YOU APPLY
Renewal Fees $500 or $700 OPERATING & RENEWING
Renewal Cycle 2 Years OPERATING & RENEWING

About

City Consumer and Worker Protection, Department of

An Employment Agency License is required for any business that provides job assistance for a fee. This includes helping employers find employees and helping jobseekers find work. The New York City Department of Consumer and Worker Protection (DCWP) issues this license.



The following types of business do not require an Employment Agency license:

  • Staffing Agency: You are the employer and you contract out your employees, all of whom receive a W-2 form from you at the end of the year and you meet the criteria of an employer.
  • Theatrical Personal Manager: Your primary business is managing artists. Exception: If your primary business is finding employment or engagements for artists, you are a “theatrical employment agency” and need an Employment Agency License.
  • Certain Executive Search Firm and Employer Fee Paid Agencies: Your agency places only commercial, clerical, executive, administrative, and professional applicants, and never charges the applicant a fee of any kind. If you fit this category, you do not need a license, but you must comply with all sections of the New York State Employment Agency Law relating to Employer Fee Paid Agencies.



NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection (DCWP)

Address
Licensing Center
42 Broadway, Lobby
New York, NY 10004

For further assistance, please call 311 and ask for: Employment Agency License

Learn which permits, licenses and regulations matter to you Use the Step by Step tool to get an exhaustive list of requirements that matter to you.
Use the Step by Step tool