Skip to main content
Language

Sale of Small Animals (Pet Shops)

Did you mean: Pet Dealer License
New Application Fees $70.00 - $300.00 HOW TO APPLY
Renewal Fees $70.00 - $300.00 OPERATING & RENEWING
Renewal Cycle Varies OPERATING & RENEWING

About

City Health and Mental Hygiene, Department of

Any establishment that sell animals as pets, such as pet shops, must obtain a permit from the NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DOHMH).

The type(s) of permit type will depend on the which animals you will sell.  Please read the following carefully:

  • Pet Shop (Class P) is a basic permit to sell fish or small animals, not including cats or dogs.
  • Pet Shop (Class D) is a basic permit to sell cats and/or dogs, not including small animals.
  • All pet shops that will sell dogs or cats must have a NYS Pet Dealers License in addition to a NYC Pet Shop Permit.

If you sell both small animals and cats and/or dogs, you will need to apply for both Class P and the Class D permits.

For more information about the laws affecting pet shops in New York City click on the link below.

NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DoHMH)

Address
Office of Veterinary Public Health Services
22 Cortlandt Street, 34th Floor
New York, NY 10007
Phone (646) 364-1783

For further assistance, please call 311 and ask for: Pet Shop Permit

Learn which permits, licenses and regulations matter to you Use the Step by Step tool to get an exhaustive list of requirements that matter to you.
Use the Step by Step tool