Skip to main content
Language

Ticket Reseller License

About

State State, Department of

Businesses or people that resell tickets need a license. This license comes from the New York State Department of State (NYSDOS).



Websites that resell tickets need licenses. However, auction websites do not need licenses. Non-profit organizations do not need a license. A license is not needed for selling tickets originally bought for personal use.

State law prohibits anyone, licensed or not, from reselling tickets in certain areas. No one can sell tickets within 1,500 feet of a large venue (5,000 or more people), or 500 feet of a smaller venue.

Distributors of original tickets must register with the New York State Attorney General.

NYS Department of State

Address
123 William Street, 19th Floor
New York, NY 10038-3804
Phone (518) 473-2492
Learn which permits, licenses and regulations matter to you Use the Step by Step tool to get an exhaustive list of requirements that matter to you.
Use the Step by Step tool