Skip to main content
Language

Small Animal Grooming Establishment Permit

Apply

Before you submit your application

  • 1

    Applicants must submit documentation along with their application. Review the Required Documents Checklist to determine which documents you must submit. 

    • 2
      Proof of Worker's Compensation and Disability Insurance, including the name of the insurance carrier, the policy number, and the expiration date must be submitted when you apply for a permit and when you renew. Or, if exempt, a copy of Form CE-200 stamped by the Worker's Compensation Board with the New York State-assigned Exemption Certificate Number. The certificate must list the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene as the Certificate Holder.
      • 3
        Proof of a Certificate of Authority to Collect Sales Tax. The address on the Certificate must match that of the applicant or establishment for which an application is being submitted.
        • 4
          Proof of Animal Care & Handling Certificate. All small animal grooming establishments must have a supervising manager who has passed an Animal Care and Handling Course. An Animal Care and Handling Certificate or registration in the course is required at the time of applying for the permit, and certification is required prior to opening the business establishment.
          • 5
            All outstanding fines imposed for Health Code Violations at a permitted animal facility must be paid before you can apply for or renew a permit issued by the NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. Fines may be paid in person at the NYC Office of Administrative Trials and Hearings or online.

              NYC Office of Administrative Trials and Hearings

              Address
              Hearings Division


              66 John Street, 10th floor




              New York NY 10038
            • 6
              A valid e-mail address is required if applying online.
              • 7
                List of Permit Fees. More info

                  Description of Activity under permit
                  Permit
                  Fee
                  For Applications
                  filed between:
                  Permit to operate a grooming parlor, where animals are kept
                  overnight.
                  $70 January 1 and June 30
                  Permit to operate a grooming parlor, where animals are kept
                  overnight.
                  $35 July 1 and December 31
                  Permit to operate solely a grooming parlor where animals are
                  not kept overnight.
                  $30 January 1 and June 30
                  Permit to operate solely a grooming parlor where animals are
                  not kept overnight.
                  $15 July 1 and December 31

              • 8
                List of accepted payment methods. More info
                  >
                • Personal Check (made payable to the New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene; accepted only when applying in person)
                • Certified Check (made payable to the New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene; accepted only when applying in person)
                • Money Order (made payable to the New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene; accepted only when applying in person)
                • American Express
                • Discover
                • MasterCard
                • Visa
              • Ready to Apply?

                Steps to apply online:

              • 1
                Gather all supporting documents required to apply for this permit.
                • 2
                  Make electronic versions of all documents required for applying for a permit. You will upload these documents into the online permit system. The following document types can be uploaded: PDF, JPG, GIF, PNG, XLS, XLSX, DOC, DOCX, VSD, and TXT.
                  • 3
                    Create an account with the NYC Online Licensing system. Payment is required to complete and submit the application so applicants should have their credit or debit card information readily available. Partially completed applications may be saved and returned to later for completion.
                    • 4
                      Select the type of permit for which you are applying and enter the requested information into each field.  Fields with an asterisk (*) are required.  Applicants will be requested to upload copies of all supporting documents. These documents can be uploaded individually or as a single file.
                      • 5

                        Pay with a credit or debit card to complete the application.  

                        • Steps to apply by mail:

                        • 1

                          Applications for new permits are not accepted by mail.

                          • Steps to apply in person:

                          • 1
                            Review the requirements, gather supporting required documents and complete an Application for Permit form. The fee you will need to pay depends on the time of year you apply for the permit.
                            • 2

                              File all documentation and pay the required fee in person at the DCWP Citywide Licensing Center.

                               

                                NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection (DCWP)

                                Address
                                Licensing Center


                                42 Broadway, Lobby




                                New York NY 10004
                              • 3
                                If someone other than the business owner will be submitting the application, a completed Power of Attorney / Authority to Act form is required. The person submitting the application on behalf of the business owner must also show a form of acceptable photo identification.