Skip to main content
Language

Radiological Materials Licensing

Operating & Renewing

Operating Requirements

  • 1

    Licensed facilities are inspected at regular intervals. Licensees will be billed for each inspection. See below for the inspection frequency and fee schedule. More info

      • Specific license non-human use: 3 years, base fee: $385; each add’l sites inspected: $160
      • Broadscope non-human use: 2 years; base fee: $2,450; each add’l sites inspected: $160
      • Broadscope human use: 1 year; base fee: $3,515; each add’l sites inspected: $140
      • Specific license human use (Nuclear Medicine): 2 years base fee: $610; each add’l sites inspected: $140
      • Nuclear medicine with High Dose Brachytherapy: 1 year; base fee: $610; each add’l sites inspected: $160
      • Teletherapy: 1 year; base fee: $320
      • Gamma knife radiosurgery: 1 year base fee: $320
  • 2
    Payment for inspection fees is due and payable thirty (30) days from the billing date. Failure to pay any inspection fee may result in the suspension or revocation of a radioactive materials license.
  • 3
    Licenses have to be amended to reflect changes in circumstances affecting the operations after the license was issued. These may include but not limited to the following changes:
    • Personnel authorized to use radioactive materials
    • Radiation safety officer
    • Type of authorized uses in the license
    • Type of radioactive materials
    • Locations where radioactive materials are used and/or stored,
    • Variation altering the license conditions
    Requests for amendments must be submitted and amended license must be obtained prior to making any operational changes.
  • 4
    Proof of Worker's Compensation and Disability Insurance, including the name of the insurance carrier, the policy number, and the expiration date must be submitted when you apply for a permit and when you renew. Or, if exempt, a copy of Form CE-200 stamped by the Worker's Compensation Board with the New York State-assigned Exemption Certificate Number. The certificate must list the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene as the Certificate Holder.
  • 5
    The NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Radiological Health (ORH), responds to all situations in which sources of ionizing radiation are involved, or alleged to be involved. ORH staff personnel respond on a 24 hour per day, 365 day per year basis. Examples of such incidents include transportation accidents, damaged shipments, lost or misdirected radioactive materials (including 'red bag' medical waste contaminated with radioactive materials), personnel contaminations such as ingestion of radioactive materials and releases to the environment. All such incidents should be reported immediately to 911. If you have any questions or wish to speak to an ORH staff person, call (347) 396-6000.
  • 6

    Applying for a Radioactive Materials License does not satisfy regulatory requirements of other City, State and Federal Agencies. It is business owner's responsibility to meet all requirements. Failure to comply with relevant regulations, including those under jurisdiction of other Agencies, may result in fines and or revocation of permits.


    To view rules for a Radioactive Materials License, click on www.nyc.gov/healthcode and select Article 175. Specific information is available in Section 175.101.

  • Ready to Renew?

    Steps to renew by mail:

  • 1
    All holders of a radioactive materials license are responsible for renewing in a timely manner. You should complete an application and mail it to the address below 30 days before your license expires. After you submit your application and it is reviewed and approved by NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Radiological Health staff, you will receive an invoice. You must pay the invoice before your license is renewed. 

    NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DoHMH)

    Address
    Office of Radiological Health
    42-09 28th Street
    CN-60
    Long Island City, NY 11101
    Phone (718) 786-6002