Skip to main content
Language

Debt Collection Agency License

New Application Fees $38-$150 HOW TO APPLY
Application Reviewed Within 2 Weeks AFTER YOU APPLY
Renewal Fees $150 OPERATING & RENEWING
Renewal Cycle 2 Years OPERATING & RENEWING

About

City Consumer and Worker Protection, Department of

Businesses whose principal purpose is to regularly collect or to attempt to collect personal or household debts from New York City residents must have a Debt Collection Agency license no matter where the agency is located, including outside of New York State.

This licensing requirement includes:

  • Attorneys and law firms who regularly engage in activities traditionally performed by debt collectors
  • “Debt buyers,” businesses that buy debt and then try to collect money directly or through the services of another

The New York City Department of Consumer and Worker Protection (DCWP) issues this license.


NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection (DCWP)

Address
Licensing Center
42 Broadway, Lobby
New York, NY 10004

For further assistance, please call 311 and ask for: Debt Collection Agency License

Learn which permits, licenses and regulations matter to you Use the Step by Step tool to get an exhaustive list of requirements that matter to you.
Use the Step by Step tool