Skip to main content
Language

Sightseeing Bus License

Apply

Before you submit your application

  • 1

    You must have the applicable Business Certificate based on your business’s legal structure. More info

      Although DCWP does not require submission of your Business Certificate in order to process your application, DCWP may request this document under section 20-104 of the New York City Administrative Code.

  • 2

    Complete the Basic License Application. More info

       

      The Basic License Application requires business information, including applicable identification numbers (such as EIN, SSN, or ITIN); contact information for the business location and business owner, history of criminal and / or civil charges for the business owners, partners, shareholders, and officers; and any DCWP license history for individuals named on the application and their relatives.
  • 3

    Complete Roster of Sightseeing Buses and Request for Inspection.

    • 4

      Submit a copy of New York State Department of Transportation (DOT) or New York State Department of Motor Vehicles, (DMV) Inspection Certificate for Each Bus Listed on Roster. More info

        The Inspection Certificate must indicate either:

        • that each bus on your Roster passed inspection by DOT within the last six months; OR
        • (if DOT determines that a DOT inspection is not required) that each bus on your Roster passed inspection by DMV within the last year.
    • 5

      Submit a copy of the current Vehicle Registration issued by a state Department of Motor Vehicles for each vehicle listed on the Roster of Vehicles.

      • 6

        Submit a rate schedule listing all rates to be charged for sightseeing bus services. The rate schedule must be on your business' letterhead.

        • 7

          Completed the Engine Conformity Affirmation form.

          • 8

            Submit a copy of the Certificate of Conformity from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for each engine family.

            • 9

              Submit an original letter from the engine manufacturer stating the engine serial number and specifying the engine family for each sightseeing bus.

              • 10
              • 11
              • 12

                Submit a Bus Stop Affirmation. For information about on-street bus stops, contact the NYC Department of Transportation (NYC DOT) General Permits Office at (646) 892-1242.

                • 13

                  Submit a copy of each NYC DOT Authorized Sightseeing Bus Stop Permit, if applicable. For questions about permits, contact the NYC DOT General Permits Office at (646) 892-1242.

                  • 14

                    If the license application will be filed by someone other than the applicant, complete the Granting Authority to Act Affirmation.

                    • 15

                      List of Fees. More info

                        • $100: License Fee per sightseeing bus for applicants who file for a new Sightseeing Bus License from April 1 of years that end in an even number to September 30 of years that end in an even number.
                        • $75: License Fee per sightseeing bus for applicants who file for a new Sightseeing Bus License from October 1 of years that end in an even number to March 31 of years that end in an odd number.
                        • $50: License Fee per sightseeing bus for applicants who file for a Sightseeing Bus License from April 1 of years that end in an odd number to September 30 of years that end in an odd number.
                        • $25: License Fee per sightseeing bus for applicants who file for a new Sightseeing Bus License from October 1 of years that end in an odd number to March 31 of years that end in an even number.
                        • Non-Refundable Convenience Fee for paying with a credit card.
                    • 16

                      List of accepted payment methods. More info

                        • Check (Payable to NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection, accepted only for in person application submissions.)
                        • Money Order (Payable to NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection, accepted only for in person application submissions.)
                        • Credit card including Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover Card.
                    • Ready to Apply?

                      Steps to apply online:

                    • 1

                      Review the requirements for the license and gather all materials before clicking the Apply Online button. Note: You will be redirected to a new web page where you will need a registered account with the City of New York to submit an online application.

                      • 2

                        After submitting an application online, print a copy of the Confirmation Page. The Confirmation Page will list the additional steps and materials required to complete the application. These materials are also listed above and must be submitted within five business days of filing the application online if they were not uploaded as part of the online application submission.

                        • Steps to apply in person:

                        • 1

                          Complete the required application forms and gather all necessary documentation identified in the section above.

                          • 2

                            Schedule an appointment to file in person at the DCWP Licensing Center or NYC Small Business Support Center. View flyer to learn how to schedule an appointment.