Skip to main content

Small Animal Training Establishment Permit


Before you submit your application

  • 1
    Review the Required Documents Checklist to determine which documents you must submit along with your application.
    • 2
      All NYC Health Department permittees are required to carry Workers’ Compensation and Disability Insurance and present proof of coverage at the time of application. If you are exempt from this requirement, you must provide a Certificate of Attestation of Exemption (form CE-200) from NYS Workers’ Compensation to present at the time of application. 

      The Certificate Holder on all documents must be listed as: 

      NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene 
      125 Worth Street, CN17A
      New York, N.Y. 10013
      • 3
        Proof of a Certificate of Authority to Collect Sales Tax. The address on the Certificate must match that of the applicant or establishment for which an application is being submitted.
        • 4
          Proof of Animal Care & Handling Certificate. All small animal training establishments must have a supervising manager who has passed an Animal Care and Handling Course. An Animal Care and Handling Certificate or registration in the course is required at the time of applying for the permit, and certification is required prior to opening the business establishment.
          • 5
            All outstanding fines imposed for Health Code violations at a permitted animal facility must be paid before you can apply for or renew a permit issued by the NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. Fines may be paid in person at the NYC Office of Administrative Trials and Hearings or Online.

              NYC Office of Administrative Trials and Hearings

              Hearings Division

              66 John Street, 10th floor

              New York NY 10038
            • 6
              List of Permit Fees. More info

                Applications filed between January 1st and June 30th the Permit Fee is $70.00

                Applications filed between July 1st and December 31st the Permit Fee is $105.00*

                *The permit fee for applications submitted between July 1st to December 31st is pro-rated to include the second half of the year in which you applied plus the following 12 months.
            • 7
              List of accepted payment methods. More info
              • Check (made payable to the New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene; accepted only when applying in person)
              • Money Order (made payable to the New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene; accepted only when applying in person)
              • American Express
              • Discover
              • MasterCard
              • Visa
            • Ready to Apply?

              Steps to apply online:

            • 1
              New users must first create an account with the NYC Online Licensing system.
              • 2
                Gather all supporting documents required to apply for this permit and make electronic versions of each document for upload into the online permit system.
                • 3
                  Select the type of permit for which you are applying and enter the requested information into each field. Fields marked with asterisk (*) are required.
                  • 4
                    Applicants must submit required documentation along with their application. Partially completed applications may be saved and returned to later for completion.
                    • 5

                      Payment is required at the time of application.

                      • Steps to apply by mail:

                      • 1

                        Applications for new permits are not accepted by mail.

                        • Steps to apply in person:

                        • 1
                          Complete the standard application form for a new license or permit and gather the required documents.
                          • 2
                            Submit the completed application along with the required documentation and required fee in person at the DCWP Citywide Licensing Center.

                              NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection (DCWP)

                              Licensing Center

                              42 Broadway, Lobby

                              New York NY 10004
                            • 3
                              If someone other than the business owner will be submitting the application, a completed Power of Attorney / Authority to Act form is required. The person submitting the application on behalf of the business owner must also show a form of acceptable photo identification.