Skip to main content

Temporary Food Service Establishment Permit


Before you submit your application

  • 1

    Review the application and requirements to apply for a temporary food service establishment permit.

    • 2

      Review and complete the application.  Refer to the Requirements Checklist for basic documentation needed to apply for this permit.

      • 3

        All applicants must read and understand the Rules and Guidelines for operating a Temporary Food Service Establishment.

        • 4

          Sponsors of special events where food or beverages will be served should read about the guidelines and requirements to ensure the safety of food served by vendors and they are operating in compliance with city rules.

          • 5

            If your food establishment will manufacture and serve frozen desserts, you must obtain an additional permit to do so. You will need to submit a separate application form and payment for this permit.

            • 6

              All outstanding fines imposed for Health Code Violations must be paid before you can apply for or renew a permit issued by the NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. Fines may be paid in person at the NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection (DCWP) Citywide Licensing Center or Online.

                NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection (DCWP)

                Licensing Center

                42 Broadway, Lobby

                New York NY 10004
              • 7

                All Temporary Food Service Establishment facilities must have a supervising manager who has passed a NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DOHMH) Food Protection Course on site at all times. The supervisor's Food Protection Certificate is required to be on site at the time of an event. Certain non-DOHMH food protection certifications may be acceptable. Contact the Bureau of Food Safety and Community Sanitation to find out if your certification is acceptable.

                  New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene

                  Bureau of Food Safety & Community Sanitation

                  Temporary Food Service Establishment Inspection Program

                  125 Worth Street , Room 1020, CN59A

                  New York NY 10013
                • 8

                  List of Permit Fees. More info

                    • $70 for an annual permit. Permit is valid for one year from the end of the month in which it is issued.
                    • $114: Fee for Food Protection Course. This must be submitted separate from the payment for the permit application(s).
                    • $25: Fee for additional permit to manufacture frozen desserts.
                • 9

                  List of accepted payment methods.  A non-refundable 2% service fee is added if you are paying by credit or debit card. More info

                    • Personal Check (made payable to the New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene)
                    • Certified Check (made payable to the New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene)
                    • Check (Government Check made payable to the New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene)
                    • Money Order (made payable to the New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene)
                    • American Express
                    • Discover
                    • MasterCard
                • 10

                  You must provide a copy of your photo ID and proof of home/business address when you apply for this license.  Please see the requirements checklist for examples of what is acceptable.

                  • 11

                    If someone other than the business owner will be submitting the application, a completed Power of Attorney / Authority to Act form is required. The person submitting the application on behalf of the business owner must also show a form of acceptable photo identification.

                    • Ready to Apply?

                      Steps to apply online:

                    • 1

                      You may submit an application online. 

                      • Steps to apply in person:

                      • 1

                        In-Person Licensing and Collections Services Available By Appointment Only. 

                        DCWP is accepting in-person visits from customers with appointments only at their Manhattan and Queens locations. You must schedule an appointment to meet with a DCWP representative. For health and safety reasons, DCWP cannot serve walk-ins. View flyer to learn how to schedule an appointment in English.

                        To see the flyer in 11 other languages, please go to In-person Application Information.