Skip to main content

Sale of Small Animals (Pet Shops)

Did you mean:
Pet Dealer License
New Application Fees $70.00 - $300.00 HOW TO APPLY
Renewal Fees $70.00 - $300.00 OPERATING & RENEWING
Renewal Cycle Varies OPERATING & RENEWING


City Health and Mental Hygiene, Department of

Any establishment that sells animals as pets, such as pet shops, must obtain a permit from the NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DOHMH).

The type(s) of permit type will depend on the which animals you will sell.  Please read the following carefully:

  • Pet Shop (Class D) is a permit to sell cats and/or dogs only, and does not permit the sale of other small animals. Note: beginning December 15, 2024, it will be illegal to sell dogs and cats at retail pet stores in New York State.

  • Pet Shop (Class P) is a permit to sell fish or small animals, not including cats or dogs, rabbits, guinea pigs and any prohibited pets listed in Article 161 of the NYC Health Code.

  • All pet shops that will sell dogs or cats must have a NYS Pet Dealers License in addition to a NYC Pet Shop Permit.

If you wish to sell both cats and dogs, and other small animals, you will need to apply for both Class P and the Class D permits.

For more information about the laws affecting pet shops in New York City refer to the Additional Resources below.

NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DoHMH)

Office of Veterinary Public Health Services

22 Cortlandt Street, 34th Floor

New York NY 10007
Phone (646) 364-1783

For further assistance, please call 311 and ask for: Pet Shop Permit

Learn which permits, licenses and regulations matter to you Use the Step by Step tool to get an exhaustive list of requirements that matter to you.
Use the Step by Step tool